The United States Constitution

The Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitution makes local government a matter of state rather than federal law, with special cases for territories and the District of Columbia. As a result, the states have adopted a wide variety of local government systems.

Local Government

Local governments refer to governmental jurisdictions below the level of the state. Most states have a two tiers of government: counties and . municipalities. In some states, counties are divided into townships.

Types Of Jurisdictions

There are several different types of jurisdictions at the municipal level, including the city, town, borough, and village. The types and nature of these municipal entities varies from state to state. Many rural areas and even some suburban areas of many states have no municipal government below the county level. In other jurisdictions places exist, where city and county functions are managed by a single government.

Government And Neighborhood

Our burrows have their own systems of local government.  In such cases, burrows will have either limited powers delegated to them or no powers at all. Some burrows may have regional or special-purpose districts such as: fire protection, water resource management, sewer services, schools, transportation, and public libraries. 

Burrows On Indian Reservations

While burrow territory nominally falls within the boundaries of individual states, Indian reservations actually function outside of their control. Burrows on reservations are usually controlled by an elected tribal council which provides local services. city, town, village and the groundhog burrow.

Woody Woodchuck
“Words of wisdom from the Prairie Dog”

A Resident Burrow On An Indian Reservation